IPL 2020: Aakash Chopra rates all eight IPL team captains

Aakash Chopra-David Warner-MS Dhoni

The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been suspended by the Cricket Control Board (BCCI) till April 15. The decision was made following the order of the Government of India (GII), which states that all travelers visas and e-visas issued on or before March 11 have been suspended due to the outbreak of coronavirus.

The BCCI issued a statement stating, "The board has decided to suspend IPL 2020 by April 15, 2020, as a precautionary measure against the novel corona virus (CVID-19) status." BCCI is concerned and sensitive to all its stakeholders and to public health in general and is taking all necessary steps to ensure that all IPL affiliates, including fans, have a safe cricketing experience. "

Returning to the IPL, the opening game was to be played between last season's Royal Champions Mumbai Indians and runners-up in the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at Wenatchee Stadium.

Suppose if the IPL starts on April 15, then surely it will be a season cracker. All eight teams stand firmly on paper and will display world-class shows in an upcoming edition.

The role of a captain is crucial to the success of any team, and the IPL has produced great captains over the years.

In a video posted on his official Facebook account, former Indian opener Akash Chopra has rated IPL captains from low to high.

At No. 8, Chopra went to El Rahul, who will captain the IPL franchise for the first time in the upcoming season. Kings XI Punjab has nominated Rahul as its leader after the departure of Ravichandran Ashwin.

At 7th, the cricketer-turned-commentator was selected by Shreyas Iyer, the Delhi capital. Iyer proved his captaincy last season when he made his debut in the playoffs for the first time since 2012.

Chopra was selected at number six by Australian opener David Warner, who has now been made captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad. Pocket Dynamite missed the 2018 season due to a ban on any form of cricket by Cricket Australia following a ball scandal in South Africa.

Warner returns to play IPL 2019 but only as a batsman. He showed tremendous form and finished the highest run-scoring tournament. He has now replaced Kiwi captain Ken Williamson, who led the SRH in 2019. Under Warner, the Sunrisers won their first and only IPL in 2016.

At No. 5, 42-year-old Dinesh Karthik was selected, who led the Kolkata Knight Riders in the last two sessions. Karthik had a good run last season, but is likely to return.

After Karthik, Chopra reached the fourth spot for India and Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli. Chopra said the reason for choosing Kohli at number 4 is that his performance as captain should be at the top three spots in the IPL.

For the top three positions, Chopra chose Steve Smith of Rajasthan Royals, Rohit Sharma of Mumbai Indians and MS Dhoni of Chennai Super Kings.

While Rohit is the most successful captain who has won at least four titles, Chopra is ranked second. On the other hand, Dhoni, who led the Super Kings, has been named the best IPL captain by Chopra.

Chopra cited the reason for raising Dhoni higher than Rohit, saying that MSD has far better resources than Rohit.

Post a comment